I Start Again


Two of the twentieth century’s finest artists turned 100 in 2006, or would have, had the tides of time not been drawn to shore. A is for Atlas has created a theatrical installation inspired by and reflecting on the work of these two great artists. Four short plays, sonata fragments, and a visual art feast combined for a cross-artform event like no other. I Start Again also featured the world-first performance of Samuel Beckett’s What Where by an all-female cast.


Ohio Impromptu by Samuel Beckett (directed by David Myles)
What Where by Samuel Beckett (directed by Xan Colman)
Let’s Eat Hair by Carl Laszlo (directed by Xan Colman)
Plum by Xan Colman (directed by David Myles)
Incorporating excerpts from the repertoire of Dmitry Shostakovich:
Sonata for Viola & Piano, Op.147 * Sonata for Violin & Piano, Op.134 * Piano Sonata No.2 in B minor, Op.61


"An enterprising and high-minded evening of short theatre pieces and music." - THE AGE

Directed by Xan Colman and David Myles / Musical Direction Peter Baker

Set Design and Visual Art Hope Gates-Scovelle / Costume Design Melanie Liertz / Lighting Design Brownyn Pringle 

Performed by Farayi Chipungu (Voice of Bam), Michael Finney (Mortimer), Bruce Kerr (Reader), Jane McArthur (Danielle), Liz McColl (Bim), Mike McEvoy (Jack), Chris Molyneux (Jean-Claude), Lise Rodgers (Bam), Felicity Steel (Bem), Ross Thompson (Listener), Marisa Warrington (Kate) and Janine Watson (Bom)

Viola: Phoebe Green, Erkki Veltheim and James Wannan / Violin Philippa West and Kristian Winther 

Piano: Peter Baker / Stage Manager: Lucas Silva-Myles / Set Construction Rob Lingham / Media Belle McDonagh 

Front of House Hang Trinh / Produced by Grant Cooper